Peaceful Papa picked for an award?

wpid-wpid-screenshot_2015-04-23-22-06-45-1“It’s a major award!” I know, right? My humble little blog being nominated for an award? Seems crazy but reality is far crazier! I’d like to thank Unschooling Momma and Poppy for the nomination and seeing value in the small bit I put out there. I actually (up until now, I’m slowly expanding) only follow 3 actual blogs. I now, it’s sad. But without further ado are my two nominations:

Dadosaurus Rex
Mama Cravings
Papa Green Bean

Rules/Instructions

Put the award logo on your blog.
Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you.
Thank the people who nominated you, linking to their blogs.
Nominate any number of bloggers you like, linking to their blogs.
Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog etc.)

Here are the questions asked of me and my answers:

1. What is the one thing you would like for your child/children to take from their childhood?

Hmm. I would like for him to know that he was respected. That his parents put his human rights above the public consensus of how children are generally viewed as: property. That he was allowed to be who he wanted to be with minimal interference. I would want him to continue that when he has children. The cycle of disrespect ended with him.

2. If there was a play list for your life what would be the number one song?

Wow. I don’t even know where to begin with this one. I have favorites that I prefer, but I don’t think they necessarily would apply to the soundtrack of my life. This soundtrack is an every evolving playlist and I’d have to say, in this moment, it would be “Jump Rope” by Blue October. The metaphor couldn’t be more appropriate for my place in life right now.

3. Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging to give a much needed male voice in the mommy dominated gentle parent community. To show that dads care deeply about issues surrounding AP / Gentle parenting. That dads are just as competent. That we are capable of being emotional available and nurturing to our children. And, I do enjoy writing from time to time so why not mix the two together?

4. If you could be remembered for one thing what would it be?

See #3.

5. What is your favorite movie?

You’re killing me with these pop-culture questions, lol. Another BIG hobby pre-children were movies. I can give you a favorite genre: Horror and thrillers. Okay, two genres. But then I’d lying because I’d put independent films right there with them. Sigh. I’m going to fall back on my go-to answer once upon a time that’s a coin toss between Pulp Fiction and Rain Man. I know, after all this talk of Indi I go mainstream.

6. Name one thing that makes you smile.

My son indulging blissfully in his current endeavor; whether he’s laughing uncontrollably or being quiet and focused. It’s amazing how your happiness evolves but remains bountiful. He provides a level of love and happiness previously unknown to me.

7. What has been your biggest challenge as a parent?

My greatest challenge so far (and inevitably will continue to be) is keeping my cool; patience. I was raised in a house with little patience and a ton of yelling. That was our go to form of communication and it never helped or solved a damn thing. So when raising my son I often find myself wanting to revert to my default programming by asserting myself through my voice. It’s tough, but I keep trudging through and eventually my default will be compassion and sympathy.

I would like to ask the same questions to my nominees as I enjoyed writing answers for them and am curious to see others’ answers.!

10 thoughts on “Peaceful Papa picked for an award?

  1. I loved reading all of your answers. Your so right we need more positive Dads in the peaceful parenting movement. There are a few of you out here but it is mostly moms. Now, off to check out those bloggers you dominated, never heard of any of them! Oh, btw I am a huge horror/thriller fan myself, can’t wait for the new Poltergeist to come out!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Thank you very much for the nomination. I will respond and keep the positive peace moving forward. May not be able to for a few days to give it the attention deserving. I enjoy your fb posts, keep it going… btw, did your wife deliver?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

