I always give choices.

I always give choices.

But won’t that allow them to walk all over you? – No. It won’t. Quite the opposite. A child that’s happy with their choice is more cooperative to do the task they chose. If I say “Hey buddy, would like to help me vacuum or help mom pick up your blocks?” I’ll get a happy little boy helping clean the house.

They’ll just get what they want all the time! – Well, what exactly is wrong with that? I get what I want most of the time. So does my wife and most people I know. Unless it’s work, I indulge in my wants and interests. Childhood shouldn’t be a sacrifice of choice and wants over an irrational parental fear. Besides, isn’t life spent pursuing our interests?

What should it matter if they want the red cup? Or if you picked out a green shirt but they want the striped one. Big deal. We turn it into an issue that really isn’t there. Let them have their red cup and striped shirt. It won’t spoil them. It won’t entitle them. Give them the choice before you pick it out, before you pour the water.

6 thoughts on “I always give choices.

  1. Giveing choices to a child is one of the top five best approaches a parent can do for their children. It immediately creates a genuine interest in the activity. For example, when you are preparing a meal, ask the child to choose a vegetable or two to cook. Then let them clean the vegetable and even cut it up… and so on. This transforms a ‘chore’ into an activities of pleasure while setting up the child for a lifetime of healthy eating and cooking pleasure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

